Improving lives through shared reading experiences since 1995

Everybody Wins DC is a non-profit organization devoted to promoting children’s literacy and a love of learning through shared reading experiences with caring individuals. The U.S. Senate helped launch the Power Lunch program at Brent Elementary School in Washington, DC in 1995.  Senator Ted Kennedy and Senator Tom Harkin were among our first Reading Mentors. Everybody Wins DC continues to have a strong connection to Capitol Hill with staffers from some 30 Congressional and Committee offices reading with students.

In addition to Hill staffers, our Reading Mentors include community members and caring professionals representing law firms, leading news and business enterprises, government agencies, and nonprofit organizations. Other Reading Mentors of renown include Secretary of Transportation Ray LaHood, D.C. Attorney General Karl Racine, and Terry Confair, Mrs. DC International 2018.

Power Lunch also provides students with new, age-appropriate books, which are another important ingredient for encouraging a love of reading. We provide books for both the mentoring sessions and for the students to take home for their personal libraries.